jump to navigation

Workout of the Week: Speed Intervals February 27, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in General Exercise.
trackback

I have been one busy little lady these past few weeks.  I haven’t really been keeping to a workout schedule and I’m feeling the pain.  I know I’ve backslid, and from painful past experience, I probably can’t just pick up where I left off.  I need to ease back into it to avoid injury and insanity. 

Whenever I’m in this situation, my favorite way of ramping back up is with speed intervals.  Here’s what I do:

Put some bitchin tunes on my Nano
Walk for 2 minutes
Run for 30 seconds
Rinse and repeat for at least 20 minutes

Throw in 20 minutes of strength training and you’ve got yourself a workout!  Speed intervals are also great for weight-loss, because you continue burning calories long after you stop exercising. 

By the way, you don’t have to run to do speed intervals.  You can do a walk interval and a really fast walk interval.   To be honest, my running speed is probably an excruciatingly slow jog for most people anyway.   You don’t have to walk, either, you can do speed intervals on any cardio machine:  row, treadmill, eliptical, bike or step.

Okay, I’m putting this out there so you can hold me accountable.  I’ll aim to do this twice this week, Tuesday and Thursday.  Next week, I’ll extend the run interval to 1 minute, and go for 25 minutes each time.  Slowly over time, I’ll extend the run interval and decrease the walk interval until eventually I’m only running. 

What are you going to do to ramp up this week?

Comments»

1. Sandy - March 5, 2012

You go Ilana. I think the accountability idea is awesome. I am going to put some exercise and healthy eating accountability to my blog (http://sandy-lifeisbeautifullifeiscrazy.blogspot.com/).

2. starshipexercise - March 5, 2012

Hi Sandy – Thanks for reading my blog, and yours will be going on my favorites list, too. We’ll keep each other motivated and accountable!


Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

