jump to navigation

I Made a Fish Thing March 4, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Recipes and Food.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

My poor little man is feeling poorly, so I decided he needed some emergency pasta for dinner.  That meant preparing a fine spaghetti dinner, complete with an onion-laden meat sauce. But while my honey appreciated the heck out of the sauce, I couldn’t eat it.  Those who know me are well aware that I can’t eat onions because they are a migraine trigger.  Nor can I eat tomatoes or many other foods.  And even if I could eat tomatoes, I can’t eat anything canned, smoked, jarred, pickled, cured, dried, fermented, aged, or preserved in any way other than frozen.  Consequently, most processed foods are not on the menu for me. There is virtually no such thing as convenience in my diet.

My two exceptions to the no-processed food rule are corn tortillas and brown rice pasta.  Since I was already making the pasta for the hubby, it seemed reasonable that I use it for the basis for my own dinner, too.  But no oniony tomatoy meaty sauce for me, so what to pair it with?  Frankly, a bowl of gooey gluten-free pasta is not very appetizing.  It needs some flavor to make it taste good, because the brown rice pasta has a yucky, sour taste on its own.

I rummaged through the fridge and found a salmon fillet and a bag of pre-washed, chopped kale.  With a shrug and a prayer, I threw three big handfuls of the kale right into the boiling water at the same time I put in the pasta.  I then immediately slapped that ol’ salmon fillet in a hot saute pan with some canola oil spray, skin side down.  I let it cook for about 5 minutes, then covered it and moved it off the heat to finish.  The kale cooked up with the pasta.  After draining out the water, I dropped about a cup of the kale and pasta in a bowl, flaked about 3 oz of the salmon on top, and sprinkled the whole thing with a pinch of kosher salt and a dash of garlic powder.  OMG. It was good.  Or maybe I just have mutant taste buds.

The beauty of this meal is that it was tasty, so easy, and not including the seasoning, there are only three ingredients.  Three.  THREE.  Did you hear, there are only THREE INGREDIENTS IN THIS DISH.  Yes, I know I’m yelling.

Anyway,  I think the part that took the longest was waiting for the water to boil.  Once the pasta and kale went in, the whole thing only took about 10 minutes to cook, and everything had the same cooking time.  Amazing.  This dish is going to become a staple in my house, for sure.

Here are the estimated ingredients to serve 4:

12 oz fresh, raw king salmon fillet, skin on
4 cups fresh, washed, chopped kale (or more, if you really like kale)
.5 box of brown rice pasta (or whole wheat pasta, if you can do the gluten)
Kosher salt and garlic powder to taste

Calories: 317
Fat: 9.5 g
Cholesterol: 51 mg
Sodium: 70 mg
Potassium: 608 mg
Carbohydrates: 35 g
Dietary Fiber: 3 g
Protein: 24 g

There are probably a lot of ways to improve this recipe.  Fresh lemon juice in the pasta water and/or squeezed over the dish at the end comes to mind.  Red pepper flakes would give it some kick.  Adding more veggies to bulk it up and make it more filling, or to take the place of some of the pasta could be good.  Or, you could make it with a leaner fish to save on calories and fat.  If you try it, please post comments with your variations!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

