jump to navigation

Hulk! Eat! March 8, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Recipes and Food.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I’ve been stepping up my exercise the last couple of weeks, which seems to have stepped up my appetite, as well.  On Monday afternoon I was completely starving when I got home from work.  Yes, I was literally ribs-caved in, on the verge of death, starving. 

I’ve read somewhere that thin people don’t mind feeling hungry because they know it’s temporary.  I’m trying to get in touch with that, really.  But I hate being hungry, especially when I’m driving.  When I get hungry in the car, I think I actually experience a form of road rage.  I start yelling mean things at my steering wheel and I have to suppress the urge to rear-end those Sunday drivers in front of me because they never take off fast enough when the light turns green.

Mr. McGee, don’t make me hungry.  You wouldn’t like me when I’m hungry.

I make sure that I bring the requisite amount of food to work with me in the form of breakfast, lunch and two snacks, so I don’t risk Hulking out on my way home.  When I find myself caught unprepared, deep breathing works wonders, and I try to remind myself that being hungry is only temporary.  But sometimes, I just need more food.

Monday night I realized that for the protection of the innocent, I needed to make an adjustment to what I was bringing to work.  Here’s what I had on Monday:

Breakfast: Oatmeal with a bosc pear
Morning Snack: An apple
Lunch: A hearty, home-made chicken and vegetable soup
Afternoon Snack: Fresh carrot sticks (I hate baby carrots, they’re foul)
Commute Home: A very quiet psychotic break because I didn’t want to alarm the vanpool
Dinner: A lovely arugula salad with beets and salmon, plus all the impulse eating I did before and after because I was so hungry

I had pretty much planned to do the same thing all week, except for the psycho-bat-poo crazy episode and with some variations on dinner.  Clearly, the plan wasn’t going to cut it for me.  So on Tuesday, I added brown rice to my soup to see if that extra hit of fiber and good carbs would see me through the day.  It didn’t.

On Wednesday, I once again added brown rice to the soup, plus a hard boiled egg to my afternoon snack to see if an extra hit of protein would do the trick.  Voila!  I’m back to my usual nasty self!

For me, a week of healthy eating starts with a plan, but sometimes that plan needs to be tweaked.  Cooking up a vat of food on Sunday and freezing portions to grab throughout the week is an efficient way to ensure I always have what I need on hand.  My meals may seem repetitious, but it’s what works for me.  Some folks really need variety if they’re going to stick to a plan, so here are some other healthy and quick lunch and snack ideas:

Lunch Ideas

  • Medium baked or sweet potato with 1/2 cup black beans or half of a boneless skinless chicken breast (diced), 1 diced roma tomato, 1 tbs fat free sour cream, sprinkled with chili powder, kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper and garlic powder
  • Sandwich made with light (45 cal per slice) bread, low-sodium deli meat, pickles, tomato slices, spinach leaves and a light Laughing Cow cheese wedge
  • One fifth of a casserole of spaghetti squash (2 to 2.5 lbs), 4 links hot italian chicken or turkey sausage, chopped spinach, diced roma tomatoes, and parmesan cheese (cook up the sausage and squash separately first, then layer it all in a casserole dish and bake for 30 min)
  • 1.25 cup serving of Black Bean Soup, with 1 diced roma tomato, .25 diced avocado, and 1 tbs fat free sour cream

Snack Ideas

  • Half a banana, split length-wise, with 1 tbs peanut or almond butter, sprinkled with cinnamon
  • One slice light bread or one 4″ corn tortilla with a light Laughing Cow cheese wedge, spinach leaves and strawberry slices
  • One slice light bread, toasted, with 1 tbs peanut or almond butter, sliced strawberry or banana, and cinnamon
  • One slice light bread, 1 tbs Polaner All Fruit with Fiber, any flavor
  • An orange or banana – because of the rind, they are the most convenient fruit ever

Of course, you will need to adjust the total amount of calories you consume in a day according to your height, weight, gender, exercise level and fitness goals.   Happy eating!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

