jump to navigation

Jewish Hippie Food March 17, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Recipes and Food.
trackback

My husband calls my style of cooking “Jewish Hippie Food.”  I think it’s because I use alot of vegetables, and I like soup.  Also, every now and then I have a moment in the kitchen that I think would have made my grandmothers proud.

I had one of those moments tonight, but the story really begins last night, when I made Mini Turkey Meatloaf Muffins:

Servings: The recipe makes 12 muffins, but at 87 calories per you can do the math and figure out the right serving for yourself!

1 lb ground turkey
.5 cup uncooked oats
3 egg whites
1 carrot
1 red bell pepper
1 sweet potato or yam
1 heaping cup broccoli slaw
.5 tsp sage
.5 tsp oregano
.25 tsp garlic powder
.5 tsp kosher salt
.25 fresh ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray a 12 cup muffin tray with non-stick cooking spray.

Shred the carrot, sweet potato, and bell pepper in a food processor.  The pepper will partially liquefy.  That’s good, it will keep the meatloaf moist.  Combined with the broccoli slaw, give everything an extra chop so you wind up with bits instead of strips.  You should have about 4 cups of vegetables total.

Mix the egg whites, turkey, oats, vegetables, sage, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper together.  Fill each muffin tin most of the way.  You should have enough for all 12.  Bake for about 35 minutes.  (See the end of this post for nutritional stats.)

My husband enjoys his mini meatloaf muffins with a dribble of worcestershire sauce over the top.  Ketchup, tomatoes, onions, and worcestershire would all be good additions to the mixture before baking.

As usual, I went a little crazy with the carrot and yam, and had too much so I pulled out about a half cup of each before mixing up the muffins.  I saved my extra shredded yam and carrot, not really sure what I would do with it thinking vaguely of a soup or a stir-fry.

So fast forward to tonight, when I’m making Oven Baked Fish and Chips (bear with me here, it’s worth it):

Servings: 4

2 medium russet potatoes
20 oz cod fillets (4 5 oz portions)
1 egg plus two egg whites
.5 cup gluten free bread crumbs (or real ones, if you must)
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp oregano
.5 tsp garlic powder
.5 tsp kosher salt
.25 fresh ground black pepper
Malt vinegar for serving

Preheat oven to 400.  Prepare two baking sheets with non-stick cooking spray.

Cut each potato into 8 wedges and arrange on one prepared baking sheet.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Bake for 45 minutes.

Combine bread crumbs and paprika, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper in shallow bowl.  Beat egg and egg whites in separate shallow bowl.  Dredge each piece of fish in bread crumbs, then egg, then crumbs again and arrange on second baking sheet.  Put fish in the oven when the potatoes have 15 miuntes left. 

This is where my inspiration struck.  I had some goopy breadcrumbs and egg wash left, which usually I throw away.  Looking at the unappetizing dregs of my fish dredge, I realized if I mixed it up with the shredded carrot and yams, I could make LATKES.  I know.  I’m yelling.  It’s just so exciting.

So I mixed up my carrots, yams, egg and bread crumbs, heated up a small frying pan, sprayed it with cooking oil, and made me some latkes.  Well, two latkes, because there wasn’t alot to work with.  We each had one, and I have to say, my inner Jewish grandmother was kvelling.  Even my husband said “it doesn’t suck.”

Bonus: The orange latkes looked very pretty with the bright green steamed broccoli, the yellowish fish, and the browned potatoes.  You should have a rainbow on your plate, kinderlech.

Mini Turkey Meatloaf Muffins:

Calories: 87
Total Fat: 3 g
Cholesterol: 27 mg
Sodium: 71 mg
Carbohydrates: 8 g
Dietary Fiber: 1.4 g
Protein: 9 g

Oven Baked Fish and Chips:

Calories: 303
Fat: 2.6 g
Cholesterol: 124 mg
Sodium: 347 mg
Carbohydrates: 29 g
Dietary Fiber: 2.8 g
Protein: 38.7 g

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

