jump to navigation

Slow, and proud of it… March 17, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Running.
trackback

I recently went through what I like to think of as an exercise valley.  Ok, I was slacking.  So for the past two weeks, I’ve been stepping it up in the gym and doing walk/jog intervals to ease back into running.

This week, I decided to run until I dropped or until I ran out of time, whichever came first.  On Monday I ended up running 3.25 miles before gratefully realizing I had to hit the shower if I would make my next meeting on time.  Aw, shucks.

On Wednesday I ran 3 miles.  It’s been a long time since I’ve done over 6 miles in one week, and the week’s not over yet!  I’m feeling pretty chuffed up about it, actually.

Running gives me time to reflect.  I have lots of facebook friends who run and post their results.  I also cast sidelong glances at the treadmill next to me to see what my neighbor is doing.  I know I’m slow.  What I call running is someone else’s easy jog.

Rather than beat myself up for being slower than the six-foot-something ectomorph next door, I take pride in my pace.   When I run a 12:30 minute mile, I’m well pleased.  I like the fact that it doesn’t come easily to me and that I’m pushing myself every step of the way.

Sometimes I mention that I’d like to be faster, and my long legged, fast muscle-twitch buddies are quick to assure me that I’m fine as is, and they’re right.  The problem is, I just don’t have enough time in the day to run a 13 minute mile if I’m training for a 10K. 

Other than for purely practical reasons, I really have no desire to be faster.   I do everything else slowly, too (think, cook, clean, walk across the room), so why not run slow?  It’s how I roll.

Comments»

1. Sandy - March 19, 2012

You go Ilana! You are an inspiration. I totally agree with your comments. I will probably never get to a 6 minute mile. However if I let that inspire me instead of bum me out I do better. My niece in Missouri has 4 weeks to the Boston Marathon!!!!! I posted her verse about running on my blog.


Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

