jump to navigation

The Accidental Exerciser April 7, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in General Exercise.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Update: In response to this post, a very resourceful friend sent me the link to Nano Workout.  I just popped a sprog trying out the kitchen dips.  Next – chair crunches!

Some weeks I just don’t have the time to get into the gym.  I would say my intentions are always good, but that’s probably not true, either.  When I get really busy, I just don’t even want to bother.

The last couple of weeks have been crazy, and I haven’t gotten into the gym as much as I’d like.   Instead of whining about it (which is my usual MO), I decided to see what opportunities I could find to slip in some mini-workouts here and there.

Here are a few of the opportunities I found:

  • While waiting for people or public transit, I find a park bench and do chair dips.
  • When given a choice between escalator, elevator, and stairs, I choose stairs – and I RUN up the stairs.
  • If I don’t have time for a full workout, instead of skipping the gym, I do fewer reps with more weight.

Most of us live a life of convenience and we have to seek out opportunities to burn calories.  Here are some other ways to sneak in exercise as part of our daily lives:

  • Park in the farthest parking spot from the door.
  • Always choose the stairs instead of the escalator or elevator.
  • Wash dishes by hand.
  • Hang up your laundry to dry.
  • Walk or bike instead of drive.
  • Put music on when doing housework, and clean with vigor!
  • Eat breakfast, and eat smaller meals more frequently throughout the day.
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

