jump to navigation

Run, Short Girl, Run May 2, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Running.
Tags: ,
trackback

I had a roommate in college who was a chronic over-sleeper.  Every morning she would turn off her alarm without waking up.  Each night she would move the clock farther away from the bed (well, as far as she could in our little dorm room), hoping the act of getting vertical would wake her up even if her alarm couldn’t get the job done through ruckus alone.

One evening I came home to find she had resorted to desperate measures. The alarm clock was stashed in my closet…with the door tied shut. To this day, I have no idea why she used my closet rather than her own. And I’m not 100% positive after 20 years, but I’m pretty sure she still overslept the next day.

I think fondly of her often, most particularly whenever I resort to similar machinations to force myself to go to the gym.  Yesterday I implemented my favorite tactic of not showering before work.  Being acutely aware of my own stink motivates me to get my butt into the gym first thing, just so I can bathe.

TMI?  Well, here’s some more.

I’ve been sort of slacking lately, so yesterday I pushed it and got in a 3 mile run. Here’s where the TMI comes in: I’m going to tell you about the music I was listening to. (Disclaimer: Most of the music on my nano is awesome. I dare you to belittle selections such as “I Wanna Be Your Driver” by Mr. Chuck Berry and Punk Rock Girl by The Dead Milkmen. Just try it, bitches. )

Lets just say some of my running tunes are not what I would normally listen to in the car or on the bus or at a party.  Such as?

Hollaback Girl. Gwen Stefani is responsible for my single-most favorite running song of all time, even if it is sorta silly.

Party Rock Anthem. LFMAO. I know what it means, but I’m too old to appreciate it.  For those of you with slightly more elevated taste than me, it’s the song in the Kia commercial with the hamsters. I only endow you with “slightly” better taste, because if you know what commercial I’m referring to then you’re clearly watching at least some of the same junk on TV as me.

Single Ladies.  Beyonce.  Whatever, I don’t care what you think.

Raise Your Glass. Pink. I’m not talking about it.

Ok, I think I’ve made my point. Actually, no I haven’t. The point is, even though the first time I heard most of those songs I had the reaction of a 92-year old man, I’ve come to appreciate how they can get me through a long run. Sometimes when I find the prospect of a run doesn’t exhilarate me, I download some new music and suddenly I can’t wait to pound that pavement…and not with my head, as I would have once expected with many of these tunes.

What motivates you to get moving?

Comments»

1. RunAWeigh - May 2, 2012

Ha ha! Love it! That music seriously makes me want to pound my head, but running to it makes me happy. Another runner/blogger got me hooked on Kaskade’s ‘Coachella 2012’ show. It’s rave/house music, which I hate, but it’s amazing to run to! (http://soundcloud.com/kaskade/kaskade-live-at-coachella-2012)


Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

