jump to navigation

I Don’t Have a Green Thumb…I Have a Green Middle Finger May 13, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Recipes and Food.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I’m a conflicted girl this time of year. I long to eat fresh vegetables grown in my very own garden, but I’m much, much, much too lazy to do anything about it. Heck, these days I’m too lazy to even go to the store, I have a CSA deliver most of my groceries to my front porch.

I wasn’t raised this way.  My grandmother was an amazing gardener. The hours my brother and I spent helping her in the garden are some of my best childhood memories.  Then I grew up, and eventually had a house of my own, with a lawn and landscaping that needed maintenance.  That’s when I discovered that it wasn’t the gardening I loved, it was spending time with my grandmother.  Grandmom was awesome.  Gardening and yard work can suck it.  I sure enjoy the results, but I don’t want to do the work.

So, I had mixed feelings when I received a pretty little potted plant as a favor at a baby shower a couple of weeks ago.  I was assured by the gardeners in attendance that all I needed to do was transplant it into full sun in the yard or a bigger pot (because the tiny pot it came in was cute but too small), and it would grow like a weed and flower all summer.

I had the best of intentions.  Unfortunately, after two weeks of sitting in the same pot on my very dark kitchen windowsill, the plant wasn’t looking so pretty.  Seeing as how it was almost dead, I figured I had better do something about it, and since I was going to the garden store anyway, I decided to get a really big pot and some thyme, basil, cilantro, peppermint, tarragon, and dill to grow with my baby shower prize, in case the original plant didn’t make it. Ya gotta have a Plan B, right?  Between the trip to the store, the planting, the second trip to the store because I didn’t have enough potting soil, and the watering, the whole thing must have taken at least an hour. If you add on the time I spent thinking about it, that’s like, two weeks and one hour.  This is an awfully big investment of time for one puny plant.

I have since been informed that thyme is a bully, and cilantro has a tendency to bolt (which I think sounds pretty, but apparently ruins the flavor).  I’m also told it’s a perfectly legitimate strategy to stuff these herbs in the same container and wish them luck.  It’s not quite as dangerous as putting the wrong fish together in the same tank, but there might be a bit more tending than I had anticipated. So today, I took another three minutes out of my life to transplant the thyme into its own pot and cut back some of the cilantro.  Damn gardening is taking over my life.

Since I now have some stupid herbs growing (or more likely, dying) on my back deck, I may as well make use of them.  Here’s a tasty thing to do with cilantro, before the damn stuff bolts:

This Turkey Doesn’t Suck

Servings: I dunno

1 boneless, skinless turkey breast
1 cup water
2 tsp curry powder
.5 tsp cinnamon
.5 tsp turmeric
.25 tsp cayenne pepper
.5 tsp salt
.5 tsp  ginger powder
.25 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
3 – 5 garlic cloves, sliced

Spray inside of crock pot with non-stick cooking spray.  Place turkey breast inside and add water. Mix the spices together and sprinkle over the turkey breast.  Throw the cilantro and garlic in the crock pot, cover, and cook on high for four hours or low for 6 hours. I served this with steamed broccoli and brown rice, with the juices from the pot spooned over the whole thing.   My husband and I both agreed, it didn’t suck.

Since every turkey breast is a different size, I don’t know how many it serves.  And, since I’m too tired from all that gardening to research it, I have no idea what the nutritional information may be.  But, I do know that one 3 oz portion of plain skinless, boneless turkey breast is low calorie, low fat and high protein.  And with cilantro, how can you go wrong?

Comments»

1. My Morning Scramble…of Rage! « Starship Exercise - May 15, 2012

[…] today off to go see a matinee of The Avengers (wouldn’t you?), so I took advantage of those two weeks, one hour and three minutes of hell I spent planting my herb garden and made myself a delightful breakfast scramble. Part of the […]


Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

