jump to navigation

My Morning Scramble…of Rage! May 15, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Recipes and Food.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Usually, I have oatmeal for breakfast.  Soooooo boring, but I’m a creature of habit.  When I roll out of bed on a work day, I have a very well orchestrated-routine that I can execute in the dark. Literally. I typically don’t even open my eyes until just before I leave the house.

On the days I don’t have to get to work, and I can throw my routine out the window, I like to do something different for breakfast. I took today off to go see a matinee of The Avengers (wouldn’t you?), so I took advantage of those two weeks, one hour and three minutes of hell I spent planting my herb garden and made myself a delightful breakfast scramble. Part of the delight came from killing…I mean, destroying… I mean, harvesting my own herbs.

It should be noted, over the years my husband has learned to discourage me from gardening or yard work of any sort.  Apparently, not only am I bad at it, but it makes me an angry person. Whatever. For some mysterious reason, he was quite encouraging this time around, and even helped me get together the materials I needed.  So, I’m trying not to take my berserker-garden-rage out on my sweetie, who I totally love and appreciate for knowing when to support me, and when to slowly back away.

HULK, GARDEN!  Heh. Did I mention I’m going to see The Avengers today? Anyhoo, here’s my recipe for…

Quick, Before the Cilantro Bolts Breakfast Scramble

Servings: 1

1 spray non-stick cooking spray
2 cloves garlic, sliced
2.5 oz baby kale (half of a 5 oz package)
.3 cup frozen corn kernels
Handful of fresh herbs, chopped (I used cilantro, tarragon, dill)
1 large egg plus one egg white, scrambled
salt and pepper to taste

Spray a deep sautee pan with cooking spray and place on burner turned to medium.  When pan is hot, throw in garlic and kale and sautee until kale is cooked down (I used baby kale, so I didn’t bother chopping and it cooked down in about 5 minutes).  Toss in corn kernals and cook for another minute. Stir in fresh herbs, beaten eggs, and salt and pepper to taste and scramble in the pan.

Calories: 173.6
Total Fat: 5.8 g
Cholesterol: 185.0 mg
Sodium: 128.7 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 15.8 g
Dietary Fiber: 3.1 g
Protein: 13.9 g

Red pepper flakes and/or fresh bell pepper would be a great addition. You could also add onion and cheese, if you eat that sort of thing.  If you’re not a fan of the corn, leftover brown rice or any other whole grain would be great too (I just didn’t have any made in the fridge or that would have been my first choice).  And if you’re really hungry, or just bigger than me (not hard to do, I’m only 5 ft tall), you could double the corn (or other grain), bulk it up with some more veggies, add another egg white or beans for protein, and still have a really reasonable breakfast.  Happily, the above version is migraine free, gluten free, and dairy free, although you gotta watch those cooking sprays because most of them contain soy.  Enjoy!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

