jump to navigation

Put Your Butt Cheeks Into It! June 18, 2012

Posted by starshipexercise in Dragon Boat, General Exercise.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

Howdy!  It’s been a while since I posted. Life has conspired to keep us apart for the last few weeks, my dear Reader, while I’ve been busy with dragon boating and trying to rest a hip injury.  By the way, it turns out those two activities ARE in fact mutually exclusive, and prescription pain killers are a marvelous thing. But I’m over the hump now (and the hip).  We just got back from the Rio Tinto Alcan Dragon Boat race (where we finished 7th in the Rec B Championship round, heck yeah!) and I’m looking to get back into a regular routine.

My dragon boat peeps are a funny bunch and are always making me laugh. One of our jokes on the boat is “put your butt cheek into it” because when paddling, 80% of your weight is on one side and you kind of have to let the other butt cheek fly free.  It’s turned into a great way of saying “give it your all” in any situation.

My team mates are also smart, committed to the sport, incredibly hard working, and I’m always learning new things from them.  At the race this weekend, one of them mentioned an exercise idea she picked up from one of those extreme weight loss TV shows.  The advice was to do 15 reps each of push-ups, crunches and squats during every commercial break while watching TV. My knees don’t particularly like squats, so I’m going to do lunges instead. Despite all my activities, I also watch a lot of TV, but that doesn’t mean I have to be a couch potato. I should take my own advice and put my butt cheeks into it…or at least get them off the sofa. (Probably what will actually happen is that I’ll watch less TV so I don’t have to do push-ups, but that’s not such a bad thing, either.)

And now, because I love you (and because hundreds of dragon boaters can’t be wrong), here is one of my personal favorite salad recipes that has also been a big hit at the dragon boat races when we bring pot luck food for lunches:

Beet and Mango Salad with Curried Mango Dressing

Servings: 8

For the dressing:

1.5 ripe mangoes, peeled and pitted, finely chopped
2 tbs white distilled vinegar
1.5 tbs pure maple syrup
1.5 tsp dry mustard, dissolved in 1.5 tsp water
1 tsp curry powder
salt to taste (optional, I didn’t include any in the nutritional info below)
2.5 tbs canola oil

For the salad:

6 medium beets, roasted, peeled, and cut into 3/4-inch cubes
1 head romaine lettuce, washed and separated into whole leaves
1.5 ripe mangoes, peeled and pitted, cut into long strips

To prepare  the dressing, combine mango, vinegar, maple syrup, mustard mixture, curry powder and salt (optional) in food processor and process until smooth.  Add oil and process until emulsified.

To prepare the salad, toss the beets with half of the dressing and let stand at room temp for 30 minutes.  Arrange romaine leaves on platter.  Spoon the beets across the romaine leaves and arrange the mango slices on top and around the beets.  Drizzle remaining dressing over top.

Hint: You can chop up the romaine if you’re bringing the salad to a picnic-type situation, but don’t toss the salad.  The beets will turn the whole thing pink and you’ll lose the pretty orange color of the mango as a contrast against the purple beets.  We eat with our eyes first, right?

Calories: 146.2
Fat: 5.2 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 50.0 mg
Carbohydrates:  24.7 g
Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
Protein 2.4 g

Comments»

1. glutenfreemum - July 1, 2012

This sounds delicious!


Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

