jump to navigation

I Am A Flank Steak Ninja with Superior Marinade Foo January 18, 2013

Posted by starshipexercise in MIgraine, Recipes and Food.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Marinades are the bane of my existence. They make things (especially meats) more tasty, but they are generally full of migraine triggers, and it’s the triggers that make the marinades work. Without the acids (i.e. vinegar) or enzymes (i.e. pineapple) to break the meat down and pull in the flavor, what’s the point?

One of my go-to recipes (for other people, cuz I can’t eat the stuff) has been flank steak marinated in salsa, lime juice, and a little canola oil. Well, I’m tired of sitting on the sidelines, people. I want me some flank steak!

Salsa’s not so bad, you know. Take out the tomato and onion, you’re basically left with cilantro. A smart girl can do a lot with cilantro.

I made dinner for a party of 6, and since they were good friends I felt compelled to experiment on them. I wanted to make a flank steak, marinated with ingredients that I could tolerate. In the end, I used two ingredients from the headache list: sake (all alcohol is a potential trigger) and lime juice.  These two ingredients, however, I have found that I personally can tolerate in limited quantities (every migraine-eer is different, so be careful). There are other, more traditional marinade ingredients which can give me a headache just from being in the same room.

By the way, this is divine.

More Tasty Sake-Marinated Flank Steak

Servings: 6

1 1/4 lb flank steak, trimmed of fat and silver skin
1/2 cup sake*
1 cup fresh cilantro, rough chopped
1 fire-roasted mild jalepeno
5 cloves garlic, rough chopped
5 cloves garlic, rough chopped
.5 tbsp ground cumin
1 tsp canola oil
1 tbsp fresh lime juice
1/4 tsp kosher salt

Using a sharp knife, score a shallow diamond pattern in the steak, across the grain. Put meat in ziploc freezer bag. Buzz all non-meat ingredients around in a food processor. Pour into bag over meat. Refrigerate for a few hours or overnight, depending on how good you want your meat to stink.

Preheat broiler. Make sure your top rack is positioned as close to the heat as possible. I like to heat up my pan under the broiler so I get a nice sizzle when I slap the meat on it. When everything is nice and hot, put the meat under the broiler for four minutes. Turn meat over and broil for additional four minutes. Let rest for 5 – 10 minutes before slicing, cross-wise against the grain.

Calories 184.4
Total Fat 7.9 g
Cholesterol 47.3 mg
Sodium 117.5
Total Carbohydrate 2.3 g
Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
Protein 19.6 g

Weight Watcher’s Points Plus Value: 5

* Some sake is made with additional Koji enzymes derived from barley to impart extra flavor, and there is some debate regarding whether this is safe for Celiacs. If you’re sensitive, there are certified GF sakes available.

Comments»

1. Pan Seared Flank Steak With Herb Butter « Putney Farm - February 25, 2013

[…] I Am A Flank Steak Ninja with Superior Marinade Foo (starshipexercise.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

