jump to navigation

Gefrishte Oatmeal March 31, 2013

Posted by starshipexercise in MIgraine, Recipes and Food.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Cooking for Passover is hard. No bread, no grains. Thank god for the Internet. It is chock full of ideas for creative uses of matzo. Today I found a total winner of a recipe for a No-Bake Matzo Chocolate Cake that makes the two biggest banes of Jewish cuisine palatable: matzo and kiddush wine.

Sometimes, the oldies really are the goodies, though. One of my all-time favorite preparations of matzo is fried matzo, aka matzo brei, aka gefrishte matzo.

To make fried matzo, you soak the matzo in hot water, break it up, mix it up with egg and fry it. It’s so simple, but so good. I used to eat it all year round (sometimes for dinner), not just on Passover. Then of course I gave up wheat and no more gefrishte matzo for me!

Poor petite moi, now I’m jonesing to fry something in egg. Oh, sure, you can order gluten-free matzo off the internet, and if you’re lucky you might find a local store that carries it. I happen to be entirely too impatient and lazy for that. Plus, have you ever read the ingredients and nutritional info for gluten-free products? Just because it doesn’t have gluten does NOT mean it’s good for you.

The Internet tells me that gluten free matzo is often made from oats so I figured I could just skip the middlemen (that would be the Rabbis and all those other people who know what they’re doing) and decided that my gluten-free oats would do.

Gefrishte Oatmeal

Servings: 1

1 egg plus 1 egg white
1/3 cup uncooked, gluten free oats
dash cinnamon
pinch kosher salt
drop vanilla extract
1 cup sliced strawberries
1 tbsp maple syrup

Beat egg and egg white thoroughly (this will help you resolve any lingering negativity from that rotten week you had). Stir in oats, cinnamon, salt, and vanilla. Let oat and egg mixture sit for 5 – 10 minutes, or as long as you can stand before going psycho waiting to fry up your breakfast. While popping sprogs because you are impatient, lazy, and hate to wait for anything, heat up your pan with a spritz of cooking spray, wash and slice your strawberries. It’s good to stay busy.

Finally, after waiting about a century, pour half of your oat/egg mix into the hot pan. I like to spread it around and get a thin pancake. Cook til it’s solid around the edges, and just getting brown on the bottom and flip. You’ll know when it’s done on the other side, you’re no dummy. I mean, you’ve cooked eggs before, right?

I ended up eating my first pancake by rolling up the strawberries in it like a soft taco and eating it with my hands. Rude, yes, but no one was watching. I had a teeny bit more self control for the second one, and sprinkled the strawberries on top of the pancake and drizzled maple syrup on top. I ate that one with a fork. Both the syrup and the fork were totally not necessary, by the way. I preferred it as a taco.

Calories 287.6
Total Fat 7.5 g
Cholesterol 186.0 mg
Sodium 360.9 mg
Potassium 364.9 mg
Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
Protein 14.1 g

WWPPV: 7

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment

squinting indoors: reflections on migraine

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise.” - Victor Hugo, Les Misérables

Stuff in Mason Jars

better than you since yesterday

loaves and stitches

adventures in baking and crafting

Good Eats Good Times

I think this is going to be a blog about cooking.

This is the Corner We Pee In

Bulletins from the Parenting Trenches...

Nutty Kitchen

cook for life!

Fortuitous Forty!!!

figuring out life after 40...

glutenFreemum

Keeping a gluten free child happy!